Sunday Bedtime Song Post – The Pretenders – Show Me

In researching this blurb about what is probably my very favorite Pretenders track Show me (some people call it Welcome to the Human Race), I was deeply disturbed to learn that one of their other songs (My city was gone) is the theme song to Rush Limbaugh’s despicable radio show.  But I guess there is some interesting trivia that goes along with that which you can read here:  Limbaugh grotesque human

That indiscretion aside,  I read somewhere (not a very official place) that Show Me was a song Chrissie wrote to her baby daughter with Ray Davies of The Kinks (Natalie*).

Also a fascinating and touching bit of trivia – totally unrelated to Show Me – is the inspirational relationship Chrissie had with more recent musical associate JP Jones.  He is about half her age, but the two developed an intense loving relationship that she ended because it had no future for him – a story of unrequited love of sorts.  JP wanted a family and Chrissie was nearly 60 and “had already done that”.  You can watch a clip of their touching interview on CNN here: Chrissie and JP 

Songwriters: HYNDE, CHRISSIE
Released 1984 on Learning to Crawl

Show me the meaning of the word.
Show me the meaning of the word.
’cause I’ve heard so much about it.
They say you can’t live without it.

Welcome to the human race,
With it’s war, diseases and brutality.

You with your innocence and grace.
Restore some pride and dignity to our world in decline.

Welcome to the special place,
And our heart of stone that is cold and grey.

You with your angel face,
Keep the despair at bay, and send it away.

Show me the meaning of the word.
Show me the meaning of the word.
’cause I’ve heard so much about it.
I don’t want to live without it.

Oh,
I want love, I want love.
I want love.

Welcome here from outer space,
The Milky Way’s still in your eyes.

You find yourself a hopeless case,
One who is seeking perfection on Earth, some kind of rebirth.

Show me the meaning of the word.
Show me the meaning of the word.
’cause I’ve heard so much about it.
Don’t make me live without it.

Oh, love.
I want love. I want
Love.

*Incidentally, I think Natalie took the song to heart. She is a veritable tree hugger, getting herself arrested at Fracking protests and what not.  Keep up the good fight Natalie!!!