Cowgirl in the City?

http://www.etsy.com/listing/108118718/funny-cowgirl-magnet-bite-me-city-girl-3

From Etsy, picardcreative, magnet available for purchase

I’ve recently fallen in love with Ree Drummond’s website.  She is known as the Pioneer Woman and she really is a blogger extraordinaire.  Apparently, she has also been running a successful TV show and has several books out as well.  Her recipes can not be accused of being light and healthy.  (There is usually a decent helping of butter involved.)   But the techniques are simple and straightforward, the photography is awesome, and the result, in terms of taste, typically pleases.

Every once in a while I get on a “cheap-out” kick and tighten the household belt.  Unfortunately for Roberto, I have started on one recently.  Hence fewer restaurant and entertainment outing posts….Therefore, I have been really trying to get us to have most meals in house, and homemade (not delivered!) – which is an extremely difficult task in NYC, given the myriad temptations that surround us.

This morning I made these from the Pioneer Woman:

Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes

https://i2.wp.com/static.thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/files/2013/04/sourcream.jpg

From Ree Drummond’s website The Pioneer Woman Cooks

The result was delicious.  My only criticism is more of a future note to self.  Due to the low flour content and all the sour cream, the batter is ultimately pretty wet.  I think I may add one more tablespoon of flour next time.

Last weekend, I made:

Beef Stew with Mushrooms

TPW_7869

From The Pioneer Woman Cooks

Also came out quite good.  So much so that tonight I am in the middle of trying (minus the grits part):

Spicy Stewed Beef with Creamy Cheddar Grits

TPW_8665

From the Pioneer Woman Cooks

I’ll let you know how it turns out, but Ree rarely disappoints 🙂