Guilty Pleasure – PAPAYA KING

Every once in a while (seems like its usually a rainy Saturday afternoon while I am doing some errands by myself, right in the neighborhood) I like to sneak in a hotdog at our friendly neighborhood Papaya King.  I am pretty old school, so my usual order is two plain dogs and a Papaya drink, to which I add a skimpy line of ketchup – NOT mustard.

image

I say “sneak” because a 38 year old MD should know better than to stuff her face with hot dogs, but relax, once and a while it won’t kill me. Plus the drink is “vitamin packed and health giving”.

image

It is somewhat comforting that the city has given them an “A” sanitation rating.  Although, someone I know recently planted me with a seed that those ratings may be underhandedly purchased.  But anyway…

image

The place is very retro.  It is a narrow sort of galley style establishment that has a long narrow aisle where customers order, pay and then turn around and eat at a counter.  The staff are behind a different case/counter from where they dish out some tasty dogs and a sweet yummy papaya drink.  They have all variety of toppings for the dogs.  They also have many juicy drinks besides the original Papaya.  But I like the original…

If you happen to be around 3rd Ave and 86th Street and are in the mood for a juicy meaty dog, give Papaya King a whirl.