Taunting Idol

image

I love Audrey Hepburn. Pretty cliche, huh? Everyone loves her, her elegance and grace – pure loveliness. Over the years I have accumulated a number of Audrey Hepburn kitschy items – including Tee shirts, note pads, and for the last couple of years, calendars. Roberto got me my latest 2013 Audrey calendar that hangs proudly in my office.

This month, there is a beautiful picture of Audrey as a young mother squeezing a delicious baby. When I turned the page to February to see that lovely image, I sent the above text to Roberto, regarding our baby race.

image

If you are not one of the other 2 bloggers that read my Island of Misfit Toys post, we are among the many people out there who are TTC (“Trying to Conceive” – i.e. INFERTILE) . We had a major setback today. Seems the endeavor is mostly full of setbacks…

Our egg donor tested positively for an autosomal recessive Mendelian genetic disease – an old fashioned medical syndrome. She doesn’t have the disease herself, but to make a long story short, if we match up R’s swimmers (presumably negative) with her eggs, there is a 50% chance the baby would be a carrier. We decided that was too much.

So now, back to the drawing board….

How could you Audrey? I thought we were friends, buddies? I thought you were looking out for me! …ever since I was given my first Audrey T-shirt when my head was bald after all my chemo…

Audrey, you will not dissuade us. We will persevere. Hope springs eternal….